Marc Sabatella

Technology for music education

Rate Topic 0

5 posts in this topic

Hi!  My name is Marc Sabatella, and I am a music teacher and a software developer (an active contributor to the open source music notation program MuseScore).  For several years now I have had a strong interest in making music education more accessible.  This started having taught a blind student in my music theory course back in 2010 and finding that the tools for communicating notated music back and forth between sighted and blind musicians were all but non-existent.  There are organizations such as MENVI that exist to help support blind musicians, but the actual tools and products available are still quite limited.

One of my colleagues at MuseScore recently shared an article about Bookshare and Benetech, which I was previously not familiar with.  I am wondering if there has been effort to incorporate music textbooks into Bookshare, if there is work on overcoming the technical hurdles inherent in dealing with notated music in accessible formats, and if there is some way I can get involved.  If there is someone in particular I should contact directly about this, that would good to know as well.

Hi Marc,

As someone who studied music himself in college believe me when I painfully admit that Music is one area that Bookshare can't yet directly support.  Any music theory book where the theory is simply contained in text Bookshare does great with.  But as soon as musical notation appears in the text, either the notation is currently all images, or is actually removed from the book altogether.  Unfortunately we don't currently have plans for investing time in this area, at least not yet.  Our focus currently is on enhancing our ability to support Math in our books, finding ways to translate equations to formats that can be easily accessed.  

I understand.  Let me redirect my question slightly, then.