Sign in to follow this  
Nancy Vannoy

NIMAC Books

Rate Topic 0

13 posts in this topic

I'm new to Bookshare; only two of my students so far have used it this summer for their summer assignments. They loved it! I would like to set it up for my students to be able to access their textbooks at home, particularly their literature books. We have access for them to have the NIMAC books on their reading lists but I don't know how to give them access. Can they access them at home or is that something that can only be used at school?

Thank you!

Hi Nancy, 

Your students can access these books from anywhere. If you already have the books on a reading list, simply make sure your students are added as members on that list and that the list is shared and not set to private.  Once that's done your students can access those books right from their account. 

If they are using a reading tool like Voice Dream Reader they will need to search for the book by title or ISBN number. 

If students are on a 504 and not an IEP can they access books o Bookshare. We are contemplating moving some students who use Bookshare onto a 504. Will this affect their access to Bookshare.

Thanks for the response, Nick. My other students have been using it fine, but with the students that have the NIMAC books, it says "This book is not available in Web Reader. Your sponsor can download it for you." What can I do to help?

Hi Nancy,

48 minutes ago, Nancy Vannoy said:

Thanks for the response, Nick. My other students have been using it fine, but with the students that have the NIMAC books, it says "This book is not available in Web Reader. Your sponsor can download it for you." What can I do to help?

To make sure the student has access to the book please add it to a Reading List and share the list with the student.  Detailed steps can be found on our help article at: https://www.bookshare.org/cms/help-center/how-do-i-share-reading-list-member